Senate confirms FERC nominees Clements and Christie

December 1, 2020

by Paul Ciampoli
APPA News Director
December 1, 2020

The U.S. Senate on Nov. 30 confirmed by voice vote the nominations of Allison Clements and Mark Christie to be members of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Clements, a Democrat, will serve a term expiring June 30, 2024, while Christie, a Republican, will serve a term expiring June 30, 2025.

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee on Nov. 18 favorably reported the nomination of Clements and Christie to be members of FERC.

President Donald Trump on Nov. 5 named James Danly as Chairman of FERC. He will replace Neil Chatterjee as head of the agency.

Danly has served as a Commissioner since March 2020. Prior to that he served as general counsel to the Commission since joining FERC in 2017.

Chatterjee, who joined the Commission in 2017 and served as Chairman from August to December 2017 and since October 2018, congratulated Danly on his appointment and said the Commission will be well-served by Danly’s leadership.

Chatterjee will remain a FERC Commissioner, along with Commissioner Richard Glick.