New Mutual Aid Committee Established At APPA National Conference

July 15, 2022

by Paul Ciampoli
APPA News Director
July 15, 2022

A new Mutual Aid Committee (MAC) was established last month at the American Public Power Association’s National Conference in Nashville, Tenn.

Previously, national-level public power mutual aid efforts had been conducted under the auspices of the Mutual Aid Working Group (MAWG), which coordinated and facilitated the mutual aid program for APPA for well over a decade.    

“The MAWG had effectively coordinated and facilitated the mutual aid program for APPA for well over a decade,” noted Santee Cooper’s Neil James, who will serve as Chair of the MAC. “The creation of MAC simply reflects an effort to take things to the next level.” 

The creation of the MAC formalizes APPA member oversight of the mutual aid program. The MAC remains focused on networking, supporting emergency response, facilitating mutual aid, and sharing ideas and resources.  

 Acting Co-Chairs of the MAWG, Amy Zubaly (FMEA) and Kenny Roberts (ElectriCities of North Carolina), oversaw establishment of the MAC and the elections for the MAC Executive Council. Neil James was elected as the Chair.  Mike Willets (MMUA) was elected as Vice Chair.   

JT Flick (NYPA), Brandon Wylie (Electric Cities of GA), and David Hefner (GRDA) were elected as At-Large members. 

“I want to personally thank Amy, Kenny, the MAWG/MAC members, and the MAC Executive Council for their service,” said James.

For more information on the MAC and mutual aid processes or becoming an active member of the MAC, contact